History of OILS conferences

The Open Innovation in Life Sciences conference has been in its current form of a two-day cross-institutional event focusing on career development and open science for early career life scientists since 2018.

We evolved from an annual one-day event called "PostDoc Day," which was created in 2013 by the PostDoc Association (PACE) in the Institute of Biochemistry at ETH Zürich to connect life science postdoctoral researchers in D-BIOL.

We have always been motivated and operated by early career researchers.


OILS 2020

Our first virtual conference

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, our agile conference committee embraced the challenges of going virtual.

OILS 2019

Organization Committee

Christina Ambrosi (UZH), Noémie Frezel (UZH), Karolina Werynska (UZH), Laetitia Thieren (UZH), Lia Kallenberger (ETH), Pau Perez (ETH), Gabriel Schweizer (UZH), Daisy Canepa (USZ), Claudia Corro (USZ/Francis Crick Institute), Sucheta Sridhar (UZH)

OILS 2018

Organization Committee

Monica Ghidinelli (ETHZ), Joyce Kao (NYU/ETHZ), Mateusz Wietecha (ETHZ), Rodrigo Villasenor (UZH), Nino Nikolovski (ETHZ), Evan Williams (ETHZ), Andrea Aloia (ETHZ), Laura De Vargas Roditi (USZ/UZH), Marieke Buffing (ETHZ), Sukalp Muzumdar (ETHZ), Tobias Weiss (USZ/UZH), Agnes Michel (ETHZ), Servan Grüninger (reatch/UZH/EPFL), Christian Feller (ETHZ)


PostDoc Day 2013-2017

Our origins

Originally created by PostDocs at ETHZ in the Institute of Biochemistry, we have grown from a small one-day affair for ETH PostDocs to a two-day conference for all Early Career Life Scientists from anywhere in the world.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2019 by openlifescience. Proudly created with Wix.com